The Ball Research Group

Past Group Members

Olbelina Ulloa

ou1@rice.edu

Olbelina was a Weiss Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Chemistry. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2015. She is currently an instructional assistant professor at Texas A&M University at Galveston.

Jane Coughlin

jane.m.coughlin@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Jane was a Welch Postdoctoral Research Associate in the Department of Chemistry. She received her Ph.D. from University of Wisconsin, Madison. Her research at Rice involved prolyl isomerase assay development.

Brian Popp

Brian.V.Popp@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Brian obtained an assistant professorship at West Virginia University.
Brian's faculty website.

Graduate Students

Matt Minus

mbm6@rice.edu

Matt worked on the development of metalloinhibitors for STAT3. He earned his PH.D. in June 2017.

Claire Coogan

cc54@rice.edu

Farrukh Vohidov

fv4@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E220

Farrukh worked on selective protein modification and earned his Ph.D. in May 2016.

Ramya Sambasivan

Ramya.Sambasivan@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Ramya's work focused on peptide-based ligands for stereoselective catalysis.

Rob Ferguson

rcf3@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Rob worked on conjugating dirhodium acetate to PIN1 enzyme inihibitors.

Rituparna Kundu

rk8@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Ritu earned her Ph.D. in December 2012.

Jessica Herron

jessica.r.herron@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Jessica earned her Ph.D. in April 2012. She is working as a postdoc with Dr. Suzanne Blum at University of California, Irvine.

Alexander Zaykov

alexander.n.zaykov@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Alex earned his Ph.D. in September 2012. He is now a postdoc at Indiana University with Richard DiMarchi working on insulin analogues for the treatment of diabetes.

Vincenzo Russo

vincenzo.russo@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Vincenzo earned his MA in 2009.

Cara Bovet

Cara.L.Bovet@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Zhen Chen

Zhen.Chen@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Zhen earned his MA in 2012. He is now in New York at the Rockefeller Univ./ Weill Cornell/ Sloan-Kettering Cancer Res. Inst. Tri-Institutional Training Program in Chemical Biology.

Undergraduates

Morgan Abernathy

mea6@rice.edu

Morgan joined the lab in 2015. She is a current graduate student at the California Institute of Technology.

Alex Marzec

Alex.Marzec@rice.edu

Alex joined the lab in 2015. He is a current medical student at Baylor College of Medicine.

Morgen Smith

mls12@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Morgen joined the lab during the Summer of 2014.

Lachezar Hristov

lvh1@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Lach joined the lab during the Spring 2013 semester. He was exploring routes for synthetic modification of natural products.

Caleb Karmel

caleb.h.karmel@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Caleb joined the lab during the Summer of 2013. He was exploring protein inhibition using peptide rhodium complexes.

Nikita Petukhov

nikita.petukhov@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Nikita joined the lab during the Summer of 2013. He was working on the conjugation of small molecules to rhodium.

Owais Syed

ons1@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Owais joined the lab during the Spring of 2014.

Julian Cooper

Julian.C.Cooper@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Julian joined the lab during the Summer of 2012. He worked on synthesizing STAT3 inhibitor analogues to explore the viability of organometallic STAT3 inhibitors.

Matthew Stampfl

Matthew.J.Stampfl@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E220

Matthew joined the lab in 2012. He worked on protein expression for metallopeptide modification studies.

Chen Yao

cy7@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Chen joined the lab during the Spring 2013 semester. She worked on the synthesis of STAT3 inhibitor analogues.

Julian Voll

julian.andreas.voll@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227

Michael Yu

dhm1@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Fei Tong

dhm1@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Fei is obtaining a Doctorate of Pharmacy in Minnesota.

Enrique Vasquez

dhm1@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Dillon Miles

dhm1@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E219

Jeremy Larus-Stone

jll2@rice.edu
Lab: GRB E227


Rice Department of Chemistry